145 compositions from 50 nations

We want to thank the composers from all over the world for sending us their works!

The jury of the competition – Chia Chou, Klaus Lang, Annette Bik, Annette Schlünz, Simon Steen-Andersen, Clemens Gadenstätter, Alexander Stankovski – decided on June 20, 2017 in a meeting chaired by Elisabeth von Magnus, Vice Rector for Arts at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, to announce the following composition as the prize-winning piece:

Stück 2 (2017) composed by Jungjik Kim (Republic of Korea)

Jungjik Kim (*1982) was born in Jecheon (Republic of Korea). He studied composition at the Dankook University (Republic of Korea) with Bongo Kim, Seungsik Choi and Jungyoung Park. After graduating he moved to Essen (Germany) in 2010, where he now continues his studies with Günter Steinke at the Folkwang University of the Arts.

Kim received several prizes at national and international festivals, for example at the „Seoul Composition Music Festival“, and won the „Folkwang Preis 2015“.

His compositions include: „The Blackskirt (for flute and piano, 2011/12), „Sextett“ (for flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, violin, viola and cello, 2012/13), „dunkel, dünn, dry“ (for 15 musicians, 2013/14), „II. Streichquartett“ (2014/15) and „Stück 1“ (for piano solo, 2015/16).

Moreover, the following composers received an Honorary Mention:

Kharir composed by Francisco José Dominguez Robles (Spain)
Hybrid pulse composed by Jean-Baptiste Marchand (France)
Imaginary Panorama composed by Moonhee Lee (South Korea)
Mein Nervenkostüm (hält das aus!) [my nerves (can stand it!) composed by Petros Leivadas (Greece)

The official award ceremony will be scheduled as part of the 10th International Competition “Franz Schubert and Modern Music” in February 2018 in Graz.

The Competition 2017

In association with the International Competition “Franz Schubert and Modern Music” (FS&MM), contemporary compositions for piano trio are sought. The prime aim of this competition is to encourage the creation of new works in this chamber music genre. The prizewinning work will be on the programme as a compulsory piece of music in the 2nd round (= semi final) of the FS&MM, taking place in 2018, in the category “Piano Trio”, i. e. it will be played by all ensembles in this round. The competition shall be open to the public, encouraging composers of all nations to take part.

To be submitted:
A composition for a trio comprising piano, violin and violoncello.

The work must neither already have been accepted for a premiere performance, nor been performed in public, nor been awarded a prize, nor been published.
Maximum length: 15 minutes
Latest date for submission: February 28th, 2017 (date of postmark, email)

Please address your entry to:

Kunstuniversität Graz
Kennwort: Kompositionswettbewerb-Klaviertrio
Leonhardstraße 15, 8010 Graz, Austria

The scores must be submitted as three anonymous copies in a separate envelope or electronically in PDF format (max. format DIN A3), marked with a code name chosen by the applicant.

Age limit for composers:
38 years, born after March 1st, 1978

Jury: Annette Bik, Chia Chou, Clemens Gadenstätter, Klaus Lang, Alexander Stankovski, Simon Steen-Andersen, Annette Schlünz