1st prize

€ 18.000,- donated by the Province of Styria

Danfeng SHEN, Violin (China)
Wenting ZHANG, Violin (China)
Xiang LYU, Viola (China)
Ivan Valentin HOLLUP ROALD, Violoncello (Norway)

Henri Dutilleux – „Ainsi la nuit“ for String Quartet 18:20
To view the content, you need to change your privacy settings.

The Simply Quartet was founded in 2008 under the supervision of Jensen Horn-Sin Lam. In 2009 they won the first prize at the Shanghai Chamber Music Competition and in 2011, the special prize at the Beijing International Competition in 2011. They have been playing in their new line-up with Danfeng Shen, Wenting Zhang, Lyu Xiang and Ivan Valentin Hollup Roald since 2016. They won the first prize at the 7th International Joseph Haydn Chamber Music Competition 2017 in addition to a special prize for the best interpretation of a Haydn composition and for the best interpretation of the commissioned work for the competition. At the 9th Trondheim International competition, they won the third prize. The Simply Quartet studies under Johannes Meissl at the Joseph Haydn Institute for Chamber Music.

(Version: May 2018)