2nd prize
€ 6.500,- donated by the Society of Friends of the University for Music and Performing Arts Graz

Special Prize –  Best Interpretation of the Commisioned Compostition „Lied“ (2017) by Isabel Mundry
€ 1.000,- donated by University for Music and Performing Arts Graz

Sophia Burgos, Soprano (USA)

The Puerto Rican-American soprano Sophia Burgos, born in 1991, currently lives in Cologne, Germany with her partner, the composer Andrew Haig. Her closest mentors are Dawn Upshaw, Barbara Hannigan, and Neil Semer. She completed her master’s degree at the Bard College Conservatory’s Graduate Vocal Arts Program. During this time, she also made her Carnegie Hall debut performing Correspondances by Henri Dutilleux, with the American Symphony Orchestra, as the winner of the Bard Conservatory Concerto Competition. Ms. Burgos received her bachelor’s degree from the Eastman School of Music, where she performed Barber’s Knoxville Summer of 1915 as the winner of the Eastman Concerto Competition. In 2013 Ms. Burgos was awarded the 3rd prize at the Friends of Eastman Opera Competition and at the Jesse Kneisel Lieder Competition.

 Daniel Gerzenberg, Piano (Germany)

Daniel Gerzenberg was born in Hamburg in 1991 and received his first piano lessons at the age of five from his mother, Lilya Zilberstein, and from Julia Suslin. When he was fifteen, he switched to the concert pianist Julija Botchkovskaia, become a young student at the Hochschule von Musik und Theater Hamburg, and from then on studied piano as a principal subject with Marian Migdal. In 2016 he finished his bachelor´s studies with full marks under Mauro Lo Conte. In 2008 he began his international career by forming a successful piano duo with his brother Anton Gerzenberg. Since 2016 Daniel has been studying in the Lied class of Wolfram Rieger at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Esler Berlin and has acquired a wide repertoire from Romanticism to New Music. In 2017 Daniel gave his debut at Wigmore Hall, alongside the baritone Lawrence Halksworth, and began working with soprano Sophia Burgos. Furthermore, he has been influenced by Christine Schäfer, Thomas Quasthoff, Eric Schneider, and Axel Bauni and is currently an accompanist in the classes of Júlia Várady and Tabea Zimmermann.

Duo Burgos & Gerzenberg LIVE at FS&MM 2018:
Isabel Mundry – Lied (Christensen) 03:14
Isabel Mundry – Lied (Christensen) 03:14
Franz Schubert – Die Männer sind méchant op. 95/3 D 866 (Seidl) 03:14
Aribert Reimann – Kinderlieder: 4. Die Schlange ist gestorben 00:59