I think each group has their personal sound. Of course, every piece we work on has its different sounds, sonorities and timbres, but I’d like to try to find an even more personal sound for our quartet.

Xiang Lyu, Viola

Simply Quartet

Prizewinner concert of the 2018 International Competition Franz Schubert and Modern Music 

Simply Quartet will come back to Graz to perform its prizewinner concert in the magnificent concert hall Stefaniensaal, which is located in the heart of the Congress Graz building. As part of the main subscription series of the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz (KUG), the musicians will perform a wonderful and exiting program, in close relation to the competition’s conception: bringing Schubert’s chamber music into connection with both new and the latest works for the corresponding lineup.

f.l.t.r.: Antonia Rankersberger, Ivan Valentin Hollup Roald, Danfeng Shen and Xiang Lyu (photo: Hongyu Zhu)

Simply Quartet
20 November 2018
Stefaniensaal, Congress Graz
7.30pm (Prologue in the hall with Harald Haslmayr at 6.45pm)

Concert’s program:

Franz Schubert: String quartet No. 10 E-flat major D 87
Béla Bartók: String quartet No. 3
Franz Schubert: String quartet No. 14 Der Tod und das Mädchen (“The Death and the Maiden”)  D minor D 810

Society of the Friends of the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz
Subscription Programs – 3rd concert

Simply Quartet

Danfeng Shen, violin
Antonia Rankersberger, violin
Xiang Lyu, viola
Ivan Valentin Hollup Roald, violoncello

f.l.t.r.: Danfeng Shen, Ivan Valentin Hollup Roald, Antonia Rankersberger and Xiang Lyu (photo: Hongyu Zhu)

Ausgezeichnet_plus is a new concert format that presents the prizewinners of the International Competition „Franz Schubert and Modern Music“ (FS&MM). The next Ausgezeichnet_plus concerts will take place on 11 April 2019 with Trio Marvin and on 24 October 2019 with the two Lied duos Mikhail Timoshenko & Elitsa Desseva as well as Sophia Burgos & Daniel Gerzenberg.